Karnataka Election results 2018 LIVE: Shah sends top guns to salvage state

Karnataka election result 2018 LIVE updates: With Narendra Modi wave still riding high, trends show BJP winning. Sonia Gandhi, however, has plan B for Congress-JD(S)

Karnataka Election Result LIVE updates: Giving Karnataka election outcome a new twist, Sonia Gaondhi reportedly rang up HD Kumaraswamy have offered support to the JD(S), with him as the Chief minister of the state. Incumbent Karnataka Chief Minister Siddaramaiah will resign rom his post at 4pm toady. With Modi wave still riding high, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Tuesday forged ahead winning 43 seats and leading in 105. The ruling Congress, desperate to retain power in the state amid shrinking appeal nationally, suffered major blows and was ahead only in 75 seats constituencies in the Karnataka Assembly polls, according to trends. it managed to win 19 seats by 1:30 pm. Karnataka Chief Minister Siddaramaiah lost from Chamundeshwari. In contrast, the BJP’s Chief Ministerial face B.S. Yeddyurappa beat his Congress rival by 35,397 votes in Shikaripura. JD(S) was leading in thirty three seats by 2:30 pm.

BJP activists and leaders celebrated noisily in both Bengaluru and New Delhi, waving party flags and shouting slogans hailing Prime Minister Narendra Modi, their main vote-getter, and party President Amit Shah.

There were also celebrations outside the residence of Yeddyurappa, who has been Chief Minister earlier too.

The Janata Dal-Secular of former Prime Minister H.D. Dewe Gowda, which has been expected to play the role of a kingmaker in the event of a hung Assembly, was leading in 40 seats — the same number it won five years ago.

As the vote count progressed, BJP leaders became assertive, saying they were confident of taking power again in Karnataka while Congress leaders began to speak about the possibility of an alliance with the JD-S.

BJP leader and Union Minister Sadanand Gowda said that there was no question of any alliance. Senior BJP leader K S Eshwarappa from Shivamogga, senior most candidate in the electoral fray and minister Kagodu Timmappa from Sagara and the chief minister’s son, Yatindra, from Varuna were also leading over their rivals.

Karnataka election has been billed as the biggest political battle of 2018. The Bharatiya Janata Party ‘s(BJP’s) bid to reclaim the state has faced its toughest challenge from one man – chief minister Siddaramaiah, who looks to beat incumbency. Who will Karnataka pick? The voters have decided and the entire nation will know the Karnataka election 2018 result today.

Meanwhile, four of the seven polling agencies predicted in their exit polls that the BJP would emerge the single-largest party today. While most exit polls predicted a hung Assembly with the BJP ahead, two said the BJP would either come very close to or cross the halfway mark of 112 seats, while the India Today-Axis exit poll said the Congress might bag a majority. All exit polls gave the H D Deve Gowda led Janata Dal (Secular) nearly two dozen seats or more, which could make it the kingmaker in case of a hung Assembly.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s